Alone In This by The Shape Of The Earth

Who: The Shape Of The Earth from Southern California.

What: From singer/songwriter Gavin Bascom, heres the lead-off track off the self-released album Do I Dare Disturb The Universe? Gathering buzz both locally and across the web, Gavins introspective and fiercely personal set of songs have gained serious traction, landing a spot on the iTunes charts; an impressive feat for any debut songwriter.

Song: Alone In This.

Currently Listening To: Liars, Raised by Swans, Holly Miranda, Edward Sharpe

Grab the new Liars track Scissor off the upcoming March release of Sisterworld. The song goes from 0-60 a couple times throughout, make sure you don’t crank your speakers to hear the quieter parts. ‘Sisterworld is Liars own space, completely devoid of influence, somewhere remote from the false promises and discarded dreams amassed in LA. In it Liars explore the underground support systems created to deal with loss of self to society.’

London, Ontarios Raised by Swans are at it again with a followup to 2005’s brilliant album Codes and Secret Longing with a new release titled No Ghostless Place. For fans of sounds in the vein of Mew, Sigur Ros, head to their myspace to hear a couple new songs (I’ll try to get one up on the site) or stream ‘Secret Garden’ below. If you’re in Toronto, head to the Horseshoe this friday for the official CD release party (and the bands first performance in over a year and a half). That can be both a good or bad thing, interested to find out which one it will be. I also wonder if lead singer Eric Howden still performs shoeless.

Holly Miranda “Lover You Should’ve Come Over” from Yours Truly on Vimeo.

Yours has a great video of Holly Miranda performing ‘Lover You Shouldve Come Over’.

-Speaking of videos, kill some time this afternoon watching Music For Kids Who Can’t Read Good‘s best videos of 2009. I think they’ll be a bunch of those making my year end videos list, hang tight for that one.

-And speaking of videos again, check out the video for ‘Kisses Over Babylon’, the second installment of SALVO!, a 12-part music video series from Edward Sharpe and The Magnetic Zeros. Kisses picks up in the same desert wasteland world, ravaged by drought. Edward is arrested by two Minors (police from Ursa Minor) for the murder of his own father, and taken to a water-labor prison. There he reunites with Brother, his long-ago friend, and rallies the prisoners to a frenzied prison break.

Part one (Desert Song) is at the bottom, might make sense to watch that one first.

Edward Sharpe and The Magnetic Zeros “KISSES OVER BABYLON” from Edward Sharpe on Vimeo.

Indie Music Filter’s Best Songs Of 2009

Maybe I should just call them our favourite songs of 2009??

These were the ones that kept spinning and outlasted everything else. Listed in alphbetical order by song, you can listen to this whole mix by clicking on the player below.

Also, I decided to just list them, instead of talk about each individual song. If it made the list, chances are I posted something on the site earlier in the year about it.

Have had to take a couple of these down, I apologize for the inconvenience.

-11th Dimension by Julian Casablancas

-Blogspot by Paul And The Patients

-Bode by Julianna Barwick

-Brackett, WI by Bon Iver

-Crystalised by The XX

-Dominos by The Big Pink

-Dull Gold Heart by Band Of Skulls

-Early Warnings by Foreign Born

-Easy To Love by Ivan & Alyosha

-Fables by The Dodos

-Feel It All Around by Washed Out

-Free Energy by Free Energy

-Geraldine by Glasvegas

-Gimme Sympathy by Metric

-Golden by Sister Suvi

-40 Day Dream by Edward Sharpe and the Magnetic Zeros

-Jetstream by Doves

-Kettering by The Antlers

-Rome by Phoenix

-Lullaby by Dark Mean

-Moth’s Wings by Passion Pit

-My Girls by Animal Collective

-No Intention by Dirty Projectors

-Nothing To Worry About by Peter Bjorn & John

-Oh Oh Oh Oh Oh Oh Oh Oh by Say Hi

-Out Of Time by Newislands

-Percussion Gun by White Rabbits

-Quiet Little Voices by We Were Promised Jetpacks

-Swim by Surfer Blood

-Symphonies by Dan Black

-Temple Pressure by Alvin Band

-The King And All Of His Men by Wolf Gang

-Two Weeks by Grizzly Bear

-Under The Sheets by Ellie Goulding

-Vermillion Plaza by Deastro

-Walkabout by Atlas Sound/Panda Bear

-Walking on a Dream by Empire Of The Sun

-Whats Worse by Bahamas

-Young Hearts Spark Fire by Japandroids

-You’ve Got The Love by Florence And The Machine (XX remix)

Everybody Knows Its Gonna Happen Only Not Tonight by The Go Find

Who: The Go Find from Belgium.

What: Even though this band is set to release their third album (Everybody Knows Its Gonna Happen Only Not Tonight, February 2010 Morr Music), theyre completely new to me. Led by Dieter Sermeus, the band channels a charmingly dreamy indie pop sound shaped around swirling synths, acoustic guitars and Dieters distinct vocals. The album was recorded over a period of six months in Brussels and Antwerp, each song built on a base of acoustic guitars and drums with the production loaded with warm and melodic instrumentation. Definitely recommended for American Analog Set fans.

Song: Everybody Knows Its Gonna Happen Only Not Tonight.