New Music From Tennis


Occasionally, I’ll head over to the Hype Machine and take a listen to whats charting.  Its kind of more like me wondering what I might be missing (or have missed).  Case in point, the new track from Tennis.  The Denver husband and wife pop duo (Alaina Moore and Patrick Riley) are back with a new album, Young & Old, which will be released on Valentine’s Day.  Perhaps you’ve heard the first two singles off said album,  “My Better Self” is the third official release.

Exclusive: “Over The Top” from The Casablanca Sessions

Carl Johnson (Library Voices), Colin Buchanan (Paper Lions) and Josh Schroeder

Ever wonder what happens when you fly a bunch of North American songwriters to Toronto, pile them in a van with will all their gear and send them up north to Collingwood, ON to live and write music for a week?  The result is the Casablanca sessions.  Fourteen songwriters began to write in groups at the beach, others in their rooms, and mid-day would put these ideas to tape.  Throughout the week eighteen songs were created. Birthday candles were blown out. Beards were shaved. Friendships were made.

You can stream the entire mix here, head down a little bit lower to download the song “Over The Top”, written by Carl Johnson (Library Voices), Colin Buchanan (Paper Lions) and Josh Schroeder.

An album entitled The Casablanca Sessions Time to Remember will soon be released.

  1. So Blue – Daniel Lee (Hooded Fang) featuring Becky Ninkovic and Charles F.
  2. Over The Top – Carl Johnson (Library Voices)
  3. Always Right – Nils Edenloff (The Rural Alberta Advantage)
  4. Oh My Love – Charles F. (Winter Gloves) featuring Nils Edenloff
  5. What I Am – Brandon Chandler
  6. Stargazing – Carl Johnson (Library Voices)
  7. Ghost of Our Past – Nils Edenloff (The Rural Alberta Advantage)
  8. Enjoy – Becky Ninkovic (You Say Party)
  9. Time To Remember – Jason Haberman (The Paint Movement)
  10. Will You Fall – Josh Schroeder

Through The Dark

anothers blood

Did you check out that post of my favourite new artists of 2011?  I included a band, solely on one track released near the end of last year.  The song was “Lost Communication” and the band is East London electronic trio Anothers Blood.  You can purchase the song from Family Records here.

Well, the band have announced details of a new single ‘Through The Dark’. This along with b-side ‘Foreign Nights’ will be released as a free download for 24 hours on 27th February via their website.  ‘Through The Dark’ deftly combines organic sounds with dense electronics to reveal a simple love of classic pop melodies.

Anothers Blood formed in 2010 in East London, borne out of a shared love of cold electronics, William Eggleston and Talk Talk. The line-up consists of frontman Richard Frenneaux, along with fellow band members Courtenay Purcell (electronics) and Chris Rush (percussion).

Also, here’s there remix of Lana Del Rey “Born To Die”.