VIDEO: “Can We Work It Out” by Gordi

Share on FacebookTweet about this on TwitterPin on PinterestShare on TumblrShare on Google+Share on Reddit

I can’t remember exactly when I first heard Gordi‘s “Can We Work It Out”.  It rings so familiar and I’m surprised I haven’t posted it yet on the blog. Lucky us, there’s a video now for the song off her debut EP (Clever Disguise), which is out May 13th (digital) and July 8th (physical) on Jagjaguwar.  All songs on the EP are Gordi‘s originals with production work from Alex Somers (Sigur Ros, Julianna Barwick) and Francois Tetaz (Gotye, Architecture In Helsinki).

Gordi is 22 year-old Australian songwriter Sophie Payten who “distills a broad spectrum of emotional experience into captivating, spine-tingling musical gems – a worldly vocal punctuated by wonderful arrangements”.  Her musical instincts began on the piano at an early age by virtue of her music teacher mother, later learning the steel string while growing up on a farming property in Canowindra in rural New South Wales, Australia. In Clever Disguise, listen for “vintage vocal layering and earthy guitar textures with delicate modern electronic production”.

Start off with “Can We Work It Out”. Follow her on Facebook here.

Ahead of the release of Clever Disguise, Gordi will tour North America making a stop at Sasquatch! Music Festival in May. Tour dates below with more to be announced soon.

GORDI TOUR DATES:
Thu. Apr. 28 – Brisbane, AU @ The Tivoli (w/ Of Monsters And Men)
Fri. Apr. 29 – Brisbane, AU @ The Tivoli (w/ Of Monsters And Men)
Wed. May 4 – Melbourne, AU @ Palais Theatre (w/ Of Monsters And Men)
Thu. May 5 – Melbourne, AU @ Palais Theatre (w/ Of Monsters And Men)
Sun. May 22 – Dublin, IE @ Whelan’s (w/ Highasakite)
Mon. May 23 – Manchester, UK @ The Deaf Institute (w/ Highasakite)
Tue. May 24 – London, UK @ Village Underground (w/ Highasakite)
Fri. May 27 – George, WA @ Sasquatch! Music Festival
Mon. May 30 – San Francisco, CA @ Swedish American Hall
Wed. June 1 – Los Angeles, CA @ The Echo (Neon Gold’s PopShop Presents)
Sat. June 4 – Minneapolis, MN @ Icehouse
Mon. June 6 – Chicago, IL @ Schubas
Tue. June 7 – Toronto, ON @ The Drake
Thu. June 9 – New York, NY @ Rockwood Music Hall (Communion Presents)